Thursday, August 13, 2015


The wine gurus have crowned Fior d’Arancio Maeli DOCG by Elisa Dilavanzo, the only Italian wine producer honoured with the gold medal in the London event.
The opinion leaders of the sector Tom Stevenson, Essi Avellan MW and Dr Tony Jordan have, for the first time, awarded the gold medal to the Yellow Muscat sparkling wine from the Euganean Hills created by the brilliant producer and soul of Maeli, Elisa Dilavanzo.
Great satisfaction from London for Maeli and Elisa Dilavanzo: during the Champagne & Sparkling Wine World Championships, the most prestigious world Bubbles event, Maeli’s Fior d’Arancio Spumante DOCG 2013 – 100% Yellow Muscat – has won the much sought after gold. Important recognition for the brilliant grape growing and sparkling wine making project by Elisa Dilavanzo the producer and soul of the Maeli estate immersed in the lush green of the Euganean Hills.

 The top opinion leaders of the sector Masters of wine Tom Stevenson, Essi Avellan and Dr Tony Jordan have, for the first time, chosen to celebrate Yellow Muscat, the excellent viticultural expression from the Euganean Hills, the closest hills to Venice.

 Here Maeli has taken root, overlooking the splendid Villa Vescovi that inspired Palladio and is protected by the Italian National Trust, an authentic natural oasis and terroir of volcanic origins, rich in trachyte, chalk and clay which, blended together with marl and loam in the vineyards, gives rise to the name ‘Maeli’. In particular it is the unison of marl and loam that creates the unique synergy required to produce the incredibly long-lasting, extremely fine and truly unique Muscat that results from this inimitable terroir.

 The 2015 edition of the Champagne & Sparkling Wine World Championships saw the participation of 100 new producers as it placed the spotlight firmly on the world of international sparkling wines.
Wednesday September 2nd will see London hosting the official Award Dinner, organised by the CSWWC team and World of Fine Wine Magazine, that will present the awards to Elisa Dilavanzo and the other award-winning producers.

No comments:

Post a Comment